The Tower is the only remaining part of the old Kraków Town Hall demolished in 1820 as part of the city plan to open up the Main Square.
Built of stone and brick at the end of the 14th century, the massive Gothic tower of the early Town Hall stands 70 metres tall and leans just 55 centimetres, the result of a storm in 1703.
The entrance to the tower is guarded by a pair of stone lions carved at the beginning of the 19th century. They were brought to Kraków from the Classicist palace of the Morstin family in Pławowice during the renovations of 1961–1965.
The tower serves as one of many branches of The Historical Museum of the City of Kraków featuring a permanent display of photographs of the Market Square Exhibition.
The mechanism of the clock is controlled by radio waves receiving the signals from the transmitter in Mainfligen, which gives it the accuracy of the atomic time standard. In the event of a power failure, the clock stops and sets back automatically to the correct time when the power is back on.
In 1967, after complex conservation which underlined its gothic ancestry, the object was given to the Historical Museum in Cracow for management of it.
Town Hall Tower in Kraków, Poland is one of the main focal points of the Main Market Square in the Old Town district of Kraków.
Built from limestone and brick, the preserved tower used to be one of the most opulent towers in mediaeval Poland.
The Town Hall Tower is a branch of the Historical Museum of the City of Kraków.
The cellars of the Town Hall housed a prison with its own torture chamber.