On January 30, 2004, the site was added to the UNESCO World Heritage Tentative List, in the Cultural category.
The red-brick tower with service and residential rooms on 5 levels inside was actually a donjon or a keep, that was quite common in France and England till the 16th century.
Tower of Kamyenyets is 30 meters high, the redbrick walls are about 2.5 m thick, with a pitched roof at the top.
The first record in the chronicles about the foundation of the tower dates from 1276.
Tower of Kamyenyets was Erected between 1271 and 1289 by the architect Oleksa as a frontier stronghold on the northern border of the Principality of Volhynia, it is the only such tower remaining to this day in Belarus.
Since 1960 the tower houses a branch of the Brest regional museum.
In 1903, The Brickwork was repaired 10,000 Bricks were used to repair the Tower.
The Tower of Kamyenyets, often called by the misnomer the White Tower is the main landmark of the town of Kamyenyets in Belarus.
The Kamenets Tower is also known as the White Tower
The brickwork features a peculiar Baltic bond: a course consists of 2 stretchers and 1 header.