Grand Duke Vytautas the Great died in the castle without being crowned as King of Lithuania in 1430.
Trakai Island Castle is an island castle located in Trakai, Lithuania, on an island in Lake Galvė.
Trakai was one of the main centres of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the castle held great strategic importance.
In 1414, the Flemish traveller Guillebert de Lannoy described the castle in these words “The old castle stands on one side of the lake, in open ground, the another one stands in the middle of a second lake, and is within a cannon shot of the old one. It is completely new, built from bricks following French pattern”.
Trakai Island Castle is now a major tourist attraction.
The Castle was built in the 14th century by Kęstutis.
Soviet Communists restored the castle and established the Trakai History Museum there.
The expansion of the castle in the early 15th century marked the third phase of Trakai’s development. The walls of the castle were strengthened to a thickness of 2.5 metres and raised with additional firing galleries. Three major defensive towers were constructed on the corners. The southwestern tower was also used as a prison.
Trakai Island Castle lost its military importance soon after the Battle of Grunwald, when the chief enemy of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania was defeated by the Lithuanian-Polish army.
The construction of the stone castle was begun in the 14th century by Kęstutis, and around 1409 major works were completed by his son Vytautas the Great, who died in this castle in 1430.
Utena was first mentioned in historical documents dating back to 1261.
Germany occupied Utena from 1915–1918, until the Soviet Bolsheviks took over. In June 1919, Utena became a district center in independent Lithuania.
The anniversary of Utena City had been held each year on the last weekend of September. Since 2013 the anniversary has been held on the first weekend of September to take advantage of better weather conditions.
The name of the city is most probably derived from a hydronym.
The name of the settlement has been known since 1261.
The city is divided into 10 districts: Aukštakalnis, Ąžuolija, Centras, Dauniškis, Pramonės rajonas, Rašė, Vyturiai, Šilinė, Grybeliai & Krašuona.
The lowest temperature ever recorded in Lithuania occurred in Utena (-42,9 °C in 1956-02-01).
The City of Utena covers 15,1 km² and is the 8th largest city by area in Lithuania.
Four rivers cross the city territory: Vyžuona, Krašuona, Vieša and Utenėlė.
Utena is located in the region of Utenos apskritis and is also the regional capital of this region.
Jonava was officially established as a city in the 18th century during the times of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth.
In 1923 Jonava officially recognised as city-status settlement and in 1950 it became centre of the municipality.
Jonava is divided into 13 city regions:Senamiestis, Girelė, Miškų ūkis, Paneriai, Lietava, Lakštingalos, Juodmena, Geležinkelio stories, Baldininkai, Rimkai, Kosmonautai, Skaruliai & Virbalai.
The city has its own “physical culture and sports centre” with stadium, swimming pool and indoor arena. It has already been announced that the city is going to build a new large indoor arena “BC Jonava”.
Jonava is twinned with: Bagrationovsk, Russia; Děčín, Czech Republic; Jõgeva, Estonia; Kędzierzyn-Koźle, Poland; Riihimäki, Finland; Polotsk, Belarus; Pucioasa, Romania; Smila, Ukraine; Vadul lui Vodă, Moldova & Zugdidi, Georgia.
The Population of Jonava is 26,423, as of 2020.
Achema is the largest fertilizer factory in the Baltic states, located in Jonava.
The city is sometimes called “the capital of midsummer holiday”
Jonava is the ninth-largest city in Lithuania.
Jonava is located in Kaunas County in central Lithuania.
The church was built near the River Daugava in 1211 by Livonian Bishop Albert of Riga, who came from Lower Saxony in northwestern Germany. It is considered the largest medieval church in the Baltic states.
In 2011 the copper roofing above the nave was replaced. In 2015 the tower exterior was also re-plated and its wooden support structure renewed.
The church is commonly called the Dome Cathedral, a tautology as the word ‘Dome’ comes from the German Dom meaning ‘cathedral’.
Riga Cathedral formally The Cathedral Church of Saint Mary, is the Evangelical Lutheran cathedral in Riga, Latvia. It is the seat of the Archbishop of Riga.
The Riga Dom Cathedral Boys Choir has performed internationally, recording the Riga Mass by Uģis Prauliņš and other works.
The organ of the Riga Cathedral was built by E.F. Walcker & Sons of Ludwigsburg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany, in 1882–83, and was inaugurated on 31 January 1884.
The roosters sitting on the spires of Riga Old City churches are one of the symbols of Riga.
The Population of Bauska is 24,370 as of 2019, with an approximate density of 30 people per km2.
The town is situated at the confluence of the shallow rivers Mūsa and Mēmele where they form the Lielupe River.
Bauska is twinned with: Hedemora, Sweden; Khashuri, Georgia; Náchod, Czech Republic; Pakruojis, Lithuania; Radviliškis, Lithuania; Rypin, Poland & Soroca, Moldova.
Bauska received town rights in 1609.
On September 14, 2012, a monument to the inhabitants of the city who organized the defence of Bauska against the Soviet assault in 1944 was unveiled in the city, with the inscription “To the defenders of Bauska against the second Soviet occupation on July 28 – September 14, 1944”.
In previous centuries the city was known in German as Bauske, in Yiddish as Boisk and in Lithuanian as Bauskė.
Bauska is a town in Bauska Municipality, in the Zemgale region of southern Latvia.
Bauska Town Hall was the second largest town hall in Latvia until 1740.
The administrative-territorial reform was completed in 2009 by establishing four new municipalities in the territory of the Bauska Region: counties of Bauska, Iecava, Rundāle and Vecumnieki.
By the early 13th century this territory was inhabited by Semigallian tribes. In the mid-15th century, Bauska castle was built by Germans of the Livonian Order, who then were a part of the Terra Mariana confederacy.
The palace was built in two periods, from 1736 until 1740 and from 1764 until 1768.
In 1735 Duke of Courland Ernst Johann von Biron bought land in Rundāle with an old medieval castle in the territory of a planned summer residence. The old castle was demolished and construction after the design of Bartolomeo Rastrelli started in 1736.
Rundāle Palace Museum is one of the two major baroque palaces built for the Dukes of Courland.
The palace was dealt a serious blow after World War II, when a grain storehouse was set up in the premises in addition to the school. Later, the duke’s dining room was transformed into the school’s gymnasium. A school was located in the palace until 1978.
The final works were carried out in 1770 when a fellow of J. M. Graff placed mirrors in the White Hall.
The palace suffered serious damage in 1919 during the Latvian War of Independence.
In 1963, Rundāle Palace became a branch of the Bauska local history museum. In 1965 and also in 1971, the Supreme Soviet of Latvian SSR decided to restore Rundāle Palace. In 1972, Rundāle Palace Museum was established.
Total restoration costs from 1972 until 2014 were estimated to be 8,420,495 euros.
A “green amphitheatre” has been set up in one of the bosquets, following Rastrelli’s original design and the still remaining relief shapes.
The name of Rundāle comes from the German place-name Ruhenthal (Valley of Peace). The Rundāle Palace built during the 16th century was located on the northern side of the pond.