Broughty Castle positioned on the bank of the river Tay, it was build it 1495 and has been used as a defensive position for many centuries until 1969 when it opened a museum.
George Douglas, the 4th Earl of Angus who fortified the castle in 1454 and later on his son Archibald Douglas coerced into the ceding the castle to the crown.
The main tower located in the centre of the castle had four floors that was built by Andrew, the Second Lord Gray was granted the castle in 1490.
During the 15th century the castle was under a lot of battles and sieges which destroyed part of it.
During the 1860 the threat of a French invasion prompted that Broughty needs to rebuilt from a ruin to a more modern artillery defense. However due to world war one and two the castle had further altered to it, to improve defenses against the German threat.
Currently the castle now has a Museum which displays the history of the Broughty Ferry, it’s surroundings, it’s people ad the environment and the wildlife that lives nearby.
A small selection of souvenirs, small gifts and postcards are available from the museum shop.
Admission to Broughty Castle is Free.
More information can be found on their website: www.leisureandculturedundee.com
Car Parking: Free parking is available at the front of the Castle.
Toilets: Located on the 2nd floor.
Address: Castle Approach, Dundee DD5 2TF, UK