Kobryn is located at Latitude 52.12.58N and Longitude 24.21.59E.
In 1944, the town was liberated by the Red Army. Since 1991, it is a part of the independent Republic of Belarus.
Kobryn is a city in the Brest Region of Belarus and the centre of the Kobryn District.
The first written mention about Kobryn belongs to 1287 and is presented in the Hypatian Chronicle.
In prehistoric times it was inhabited by the ancient Baltic Yotvingian tribe.
On 14 November 1939, Kobryn was incorporated into the Byelorussian SSR.
The Kobryn is located in the southwestern corner of Belarus where the Mukhavets River and Dnepr-Bug Canal meet.
Kobryn has an altitude of 485 feet.
Kobryn has an estimated population of 53,000, as of 2020.
In the years 1774–1784, a canal was built connecting the Mukhavets River with the Pina River, named the Royal Canal after Polish King Stanisław August Poniatowski, who opened it, and as a result, a water route was created connecting the Baltic Sea and the Black Sea.
The territory of present-day Bardejov has attracted settlers since the Stone Age. However, the first written reference to the town dates back to the 1240s, when monks from Bardejov complained to King Béla IV of Hungary about a violation of the town’s borders by Prešov.
Bardejov is situated in the Šariš region on a floodplain terrace of the Topľa River, in the hills of the Beskyd Mountains.
Bardejov is dominated by the monumental Church of St. Aegidius, mentioned for the first time in 1247.
The town consists of the following boroughs: Bardejov, Bardejovská Nová Ves, Bardejovská Zábava, Bardejovské Kúpele, Dlhá Lúka & Mihaľov.
The name Lida is derived from the name of the River Lidzeya. Its origin is associated with the Lithuanian name Lyda.
There are passing mentions of Lida in chronicles from 1180. Until the early 14th century, the settlement at Lida was a wooden fortress in Lithuania proper.
In spring 2001, the Jewish of Belarus worked closely with the residents of Lida to erect a memorial commemorating the thousands of Lida Jews that perished in the Holocaust.
Polish King Sigismund III Vasa granted Lida Magdeburg town rights in 1590, which were later confirmed in Warsaw by Kings Władysław IV Vasa in 1640 and Michael Korybut Wiśniowiecki in 1670 and by the Polish Sejm in 1776.
The oldest written reference to the settlement of Zvolen existing below the castle is from 1243.
Zvolen remained the capital of Zólyom County until the 1760s.
In 1871-1872, two new railways were built and Zvolen became an important railroad hub and important industrial center.
The name Zvolen is of Slovak origin meaning “the chosen one, splendid, excellent”.
Zvolen has been inhabited since the Paleolithic.
The Estimated Population of Zvolen is 42,760.
Zvolen is a town in central Slovakia, situated on the confluence of Hron and Slatina rivers, close to Banská Bystrica.
Zvolen is a member of the Douzelage, a town twinning association of towns across the European Union, also twinned with: Imatra, Finland; Zwoleń, Poland; Prachatice, Czech Republic; Tótkomlós, Hungary & Rivne, Ukraine.
The total area of the Town of Zvolen is 98.727 km2.
In the Rákóczi’s War of Independence, the Kuruc army in the battle of Zvolen defeated the enemy forces from Austria, Denmark, Vojvodina and Hungary.