Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk

Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk is known as the church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, is a Roman Catholic Neo-Gothic church, Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk replaced the old St Peters church which burned down in 1896, only the brick tower arches survived, nicknamed the Peperbusse.

King Leopold II enthusiastic supported a new plan to build a new church, construction started in 1899. Architect Louis Delacenserie was inspired by the ‘ ideal plan ‘ for a cathedral, like that of the Dom of Cologne and the Votivkirche of Vienna, King Leopold II laid the first stone in 1901.

After the church was complete Bishop Waffelaert declared the church a sacred place on August 31st, 1908. Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk is 70 meters long and 30 meters wide. Its spires are 72 meters high. Inside the Church between the two doors of the portal is a statue of Mary with the baby Jesus. To the left and right of the portal are the patron saints Peter and Paul.

The green marble tomb of Louise-Marie, the queen of Belgium, Wife of Leopold I who deceased in Oostende (1812-1850) is located inside the Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk, in the chapel of the main altar, you can visit the tomb upon request.

During the two World War, the stained glass windows were destroyed and were later replaced by Michiel Martens. The stained glass windows tell the history of Ostend, the historical figures, apostles, biblical scenes and regional saints. The church treasures include embroidered robes and silver objects.

Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk

Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk

Brief timeline History

  • 1901: symbolic first stone by Leopold II although the building was already 4 meters above the ground.
  • 1904: approval design images from transept pylons to design by P. Braecke (Nieuwpoort) and from front facade to design by JB Van Wint (Antwerp), as well as the design of the Queen’s chapel. Change of triforium tracing design.
  • 1905: solemn inauguration of the church on 4 September; approval of design confessionals and stained-glass windows, lg from om J. Dobbelaere (Bruges) and A. Ladon (Ghent).
  • 1907: finishing towers and surrounding gardens.
  • 1908: approval design high altar and organ.
  • 1909: the death of architect L. Delasencerie.
  • 1910: approval of glass windows for the Queen’s chapel after the design by A. Ladon.
  • 1914-1918: damage to the church to glass windows, north portal and wrought iron closing of a chapel.
  • 1936: places of a new wrought-iron gate at the entrance of the Queen’s chapel by L. Lenoir (Bruges).
  • 1940-1945: again war damage to the church, to glass windows and organ.
  • 1954: renewal of organ under the direction of J. and P. Loncke (Esen).
  • 1960-1975: places of new stained glass windows by M. Martens (Bruges).
  • 1973: a decision to phase-wise restoration under the direction of architect P. Felix (Ostend), continued in 1981 under the direction of architectural firm Felix-Glorieux (Ostend).
  • 1976-1980: restoration of a choir, royal chapel, sacristy and transept.
  • 1983-1991: repair work on towers east, rose window, roof rider, platform and organ; applying for fire protection.
  • 1999: restoration of arches, roofs and windows in central aisle and transept.
Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk

Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk Credited Flickr ArcheoNet Vlaanderen

Sint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk Contact Information

Telephone: +32 59 80 55 00 | Official Website |

READ THIS POST  10 Interesting Arles Facts

How To Get There

Oostende Train Station is only 5 minutes walking distance from the church, Trains Extra, IC, ICT and P go to Oostende.

The nearest bus stop is the ‘Oostende Sint- Petrus Paulusplein’ on Kaaistraat road, bus services 81 and 1 stop there.

Opening Hours

During the Eucharistic celebrations, the church is not accessible and not accessible during ceremonies such as marriages and funerals.

Information

  • Architectural style: Gothic Revival architecture
  • Architect: Louis Delacenserie
  • built in 1907
  • Accessible to wheelchair users

WHERE TO STAY IN OSTEND

Nearby places to stay as cheap as possible budget under £100/$100/€100:

  • Hotel Ambassadeur, only a 5-minute walk from Oostende Beach, a lively touristic area with shops and restaurants. It offers newly renovated rooms with flat-screen TVs and a fish specialities restaurant on site. Check Price
  • Hotel Rubens, only a 4-minute walk from Oostende Beach, The accommodation offers a terrace. property is located 750 yards from Casino Kursaal. Check Price
  • Avenue Beach Hotel, Only 4-minute walk from Oostende Beach! Located only 300 yards from the sandy North Sea beach in Oostende, Avenue Beach Hotel offers rooms with free Wi-Fi in the centre of town. Check Price

Nearby places to stay at a budget price of £200 – £400:

  • Hôtel Bero, only a 3-minute walk from Oostende Beach! Hotel Bero is only 150 yards from the beach in the centre of Oostende and benefits from a modern bar. An indoor swimming pool, a sauna and a steam bath are available in Ninfea Leisure Centre on site. Check Price
  • Logis Hotel Glenmore, Glenmore Thalasso & Spa is located at the Belgian Seaside, only 50 yards from the sandy beach in Oostende. It features a fitness area and wellness facilities and offers rooms with a free breakfast buffet. Check Price

Visiting Oostende? We have other posts that you may enjoy that will be helpful on your trip.

Location

Address: Prins Boudewijnstraat, 8400 Oostende, Belgium | Coordinations:  51.229678° N, 2.921183° E

Enjoyed this post? Save it for later on Pinterest! Share the Love

Sint-Petrus-en-PauluskerkSint-Petrus-en-Pauluskerk

Leave a Reply

Start typing and press Enter to search

Fort Napoleon, OstendBarquentine Mercator
%d bloggers like this: