Panemunė Castle is a castle on the right bank of the Nemunas River, in Vytėnai, Jurbarkas district, Lithuania.
The initial hill fort of the Teutonic Knights, erected in 1343 was replaced by a castle built in 1604-1610 by a noble Hungarian descent Janusz Eperjesz.
The name “Panemunė“, arose from the former Panemunė Manor that was once here.
Panemunė Castle was not designed to be a stronghold for the defence of the land but a typical, for the beginning of the 17th century, nobleman castle with defensive fittings, residential buildings, and farm buildings.
Panemunė Castle became one of the most beautiful Renaissance-era building in Lithuania.
The castle was reconstructed around 1759 by Giełgud family.
In 2009, a reconstruction of the castle began and was laid out in three phases, which phase can last around three years to complete, the project involved the restoration of one of the castle building to be restored, two defensive towers and replace the roof coverings and windows, The project is funded by the EU Structural Funds.
Until the 14th century, in the territory of Bernardine garden there was a Lithuanian pagan saint oaks wood.
In 1864 the Russian tsar government closed the Bernardine garden, but about twenty years later the townspeople recovered this garden. It was reconstructed according to A. V. Strauss and Jakub Jasiński project.
In 2013, the Bernardine garden was reconstructed for the third time. Reconstruction works were done by „Vilnius city parks“ and partly funded by the European Union.
The Bernardine Garden is a public park in the city of Vilnius, Lithuania.
Bernardine Park is located on the right bank of the Vilnia River between the Gediminas Tower and Bernardine Monastery
Bernardine Park covers over 9 hectares.
Vilnius’ oldest oak tree, which is reportedly over 300 years old, can be found in the Bernardine Park.
Rare trees such as ginkgo tree, yellow dogwood, Canadian fir & black pine can be found in the park.
Medininkai Castle is a medieval castle in Vilnius district, Lithuania, was built in the first half of the 14th century.
The defensive perimeter of the castle was 6.5 hectares; it is the largest enclosure type castle in Lithuania.
The rectangular castle’s yard covered approximately 1.8 hectares and was protected by walls 15 metres high and 2 metres thick. The castle had 4 gates and towers.
After the castle’s restoration, its museum currently exhibits a large collection of items made from silver by artisans of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, and collection of hunting trophies and hunting knives of President Algirdas Brazauskas.
In the beginning of the 16th century, the wooden buildings in the courtyard of the Castle suffered from fire, later the abandoned castle suffered from wars in 1655 and 1812.
The castle was for the first time mentioned as a military object in 1402.
A permanent exhibition of Trakai History Museum opened in the keep of Medininkai Castle in 2012 and various festivals and events take place in the courtyard of the ancient castle since then.
During the Second World War Germans set their gun arsenal in one of the towers of Medininkai castle. The tower was burst when Germans retreated.
Visaginas is the centre of Lithuania’s youngest municipality, located on the north-eastern edge of the country.
The surroundings of Visaginas were inhabited by the Selonians. Historical annals first mention the location in 1526.
The settlement was founded in 1975 as Sniečkus, a town for workers at the Ignalina Nuclear Power Plant on the shores of Lake Visaginas. It was established in place of four villages that were demolished, the largest of which was known as Visaginas.
The Population of Visaginas is 18,024, as of 2020.
Ignalina Nuclear Power Plant which once employed half of the population of Visaginas was closed down as requested by the European Union.
Visaginas has 14 streets.
Originally the aerial view of Visaginas was designed to resemble a butterfly. However, after work on the nuclear power plant was cancelled, so was further construction of the town. Currently Visaginas consists of three residential regions that locals refer to as the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Microdistricts.
Tauragė is an industrial city in Lithuania, and the capital of Tauragė County.
Tsar Alexander I of Russia signed an armistice with Napoleon I in Tauragė on June 21, 1807, that was soon to be followed with the Treaties of Tilsit.
In Lithuanian, Tauragė is a conjunction of two words: Tauras which means “aurochs”, and ragas which means “horn”, hence the city’s coat of arms.
Notable people who came from Tauragė: Ernestas Šetkus, Jurgis Baltrušaitis, Samuel Isaac Joseph Schereschewsky, Tauras Jogėla, Svajūnas Adomaitis, Edgaras Venckaitis, Rokas Giedraitis, Remigijus Šimašius & Solomon Levitan.