Quebec City, officially Québec, is the capital city of the Canadian province of Quebec.
Quebec City is the eleventh-largest city and the seventh-largest metropolitan area in Canada.
Quebec was founded by Samuel de Champlain, a French explorer and diplomat, on 3 July 1608, and at the site of a long-abandoned St. Lawrence Iroquoian settlement called Stadacona.
Quebec City is the second-largest city in the province after Montreal.
Quebec City was struck by the 1925 Charlevoix–Kamouraska earthquake.
Since 1987 the avian emblem of Quebec has been the snowy owl.
Quebec City is home to Laval University, which is recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The oldest part of Quebec City was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1985.
Quebec City is one of the oldest European cities in North America.
Quebec City is known for its Winter Carnival, its summer music festival and its Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day celebrations.
Québec City has a number of historic sites, art galleries and museums, including Citadelle of Quebec, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Ursulines of Quebec, and Musée de la civilisa.
The Chateau Frontenac is the world’s most photographed hotel.
The first commercial brewery in Canada was started in Quebec City by Jean-Talon in 1668.
Quebec City has hosted a number of recent sporting events, as well as being shortlisted for the 2002 Winter Olympics city selection. The Special Olympics Canada National Winter Games was held in the city from 26 February to 1 March 2008. Quebec City co-hosted with Halifax, Nova Scotia, the 2008 IIHF World Championship.
Quebec City’s 400th anniversary was celebrated in 2008, as of 2021 Quebec City is 413 years old.
Quebec City is twinned with Bordeaux, France & Calgary, Canada.
The floral emblem of Quebec is the Iris versicolor.
On average, Quebec City receives 1,190 millimetres of precipitation, of which 899 millimetres is rain and 303 millimetres is the melt from 316 centimetres of snowfall per annum.
Quebec is Canada’s largest province by area.
French is the official language of this province. Approximately 80 % of the residents speak French as their native language and close to 95% of “Quebecers” speak French.
Quebec City has served as a capital, From 1608 to 1627, and 1632 to 1763, it was the capital of French Canada and all of New France, from 1763 to 1791.
The Estimated Population of Quebeck is 542,298.
Quebec City has the oldest educational institution for women in North America, led by the Ursulines of Quebec, which is now a private elementary school.
Quebec City is located in the Saint Lawrence River valley, on the north bank of the Saint Lawrence River near its meeting with the St. Charles River.
The city’s name is Ville de Québec in French.
The city’s name comes from the word “Kebec,” which is actually an Algonquin word meaning “where the river narrows,” reflecting the fact that Quebec City sits at the narrow confluence of St. Lawrence and the St. Charles rivers.
The highest temperature ever recorded in Quebec City was 36.1 °C (97 °F) on 17 July 1953.
The coldest temperature ever recorded was −36.7 °C (−34 °F) on 10 January 1890 and 14 January 2015.
On 1 November 2009, the Quebec City re-organized its boroughs, reducing the number from 8 to 6: La Cité-Limoilou, Les Rivières, Sainte-Foy–Sillery–Cap-Rouge, Charlesbourg, Beauport & La Haute-Saint-Charles.
There are 37 National Historic Sites of Canada in Quebec City and its enclaves.
Sherbrooke is the sixth-largest city in the province and the thirtieth largest in Canada.
Sherbrooke is the primary economic, political, cultural and institutional centre of Estrie, and was known as the Queen of the Eastern Townships at the beginning of the 20th century.
Sherbrooke is a city in southern Quebec, Canada.
The Sherbrooke region is surrounded by mountains, rivers and lakes.
The First Nations were the first inhabitants, having originally settled the region between 8,000 and 3,000 years ago.
Sherbrooke is situated at the confluence of the Saint-François and Magog rivers in the heart of the Estrie administrative region.
The Estimated Population of Sherbrooke is 167,162.
The highest temperature ever recorded in Sherbrooke was 36.7 °C on 1 & 2 July 1931. The coldest temperature ever recorded was −41.2 °C on 15 January 2004.
Originally known as Hyatt’s Mill, it was renamed after Sir John Coape Sherbrooke, a British general who was Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, and Governor-General of British North America; the family is named after Shirebrook, Derbyshire.
Sherbrooke is the seat of the judicial district of Saint-François.
Saguenay is a city in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec, Canada, on the Saguenay River.
The city is divided into three boroughs: Chicoutimi, Jonquière and La Baie.
Saguenay was formed on February 18, 2002, by amalgamating the cities of Chicoutimi, Jonquière, La Baie and Laterrière, along with the municipalities of Lac-Kénogami and Shipshaw and part of the township of Tremblay.
The highest temperature ever recorded in Saguenay was 39.4 °C on August 18, 1935. The coldest temperature ever recorded was −45.0 °C on February 5, 1916.
Saguenay is the seat of the judicial district of Chicoutimi.
Saguenay sister city Camrose, Alberta, Canada.
Saguenay is located in a depression in the Canadian shield called the Saguenay Graben, which has a somewhat more temperate climate than the surrounding region.
The Estimated Population of Saguenay is 145,965.
Saguenay geographical code is 941.
Saguenay has a branch of the University of Québec.
The actual village of Châteauguay was created in 1855, after the abolition of the seigneurie system in Quebec by the United Province of Canada.
Châteauguay is an off-island suburb of Montreal, in southwestern Quebec, located both on the Chateauguay River and Lac St-Louis, which is a section of the St. Lawrence River.
The land was first given to Charles Lemoyne by the governor of New France at the time, the Comte de Frontenac with the intention of setting up a seigneurie in the area.
Twelve different ethnic groups represent at least 1% of the population in Chateauguay.
Châteauguay is twinned with Cambrai, France; Châteaugay, France & Moose Jaw, Canada.
Since 1984, Châteauguay has been home to one of the largest HVDC-back-to-back stations in the world with an operating voltage of 140 kV and a maximum transmission rate of 1000 MW.
Châteauguay played an important part in the colonial history of North America. With the United States has declared war on Britain in 1812, Châteauguay was seen as little more than a good vantage point to post troops to defend Montreal against an invasion.
The Estimated Population of Chateauguay is 46,264.
In 1763 France relinquished its claims in Canada and Châteauguay was under British mandate.
The city’s local newspaper is Le Soleil. Châteauguay Express was shut down in 2014.
Drummondville was founded in June 1815 by Lieutenant-Colonel Frederick Heriot.
Drummondville is the seat of Drummond Regional County Municipality, and of the judicial district of Drummond.
The purpose of the town was to provide a home for British soldiers in the War of 1812 and to guard the Saint-François (St Francis) River against American attacks. The town was named after Sir Gordon Drummond, the Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada between 1813 and 1816.
From 1982 to 2017, Drummondville was home to the Mondial des Cultures, one of the largest folk dance festivals in the world.
The Estimated Population of Drummondville is 68,601.
Drummondville is a city in the Centre-du-Québec region of Quebec, located east of Montreal on the Saint-François River.
Drummondville is home to the Cégep de Drummondville, a public French-language CEGEP.
Drummondville has three sister cities: La Roche-sur-Yon, Vendée, Pays de la Loire, France; Braine-l’Alleud, Walloon Brabant, Belgium & Community of Communes Ackerland and Kochersberg, France.
The construction of the Hemmings Falls hydro-electric dam in 1920 brought a new wave of industrial growth to the Drummondville area.
Since 2008 Drummondville hosts the Festival de la Poutine, towards the end of August; during three days people are invited to attend concerts there and to savour several kinds of poutine, a Canadian dish of provincial origin.
In 1651, the Jesuit priest Buteaux was the first European known to have travelled up the Saint-Maurice River to this river’s first set of great falls.
The name Shawinigan has had numerous spellings over time: Chaouinigane, Oshaouinigane, Assaouinigane, Achawénégan, Chawinigame, Shawenigane, Chaouénigane. It may mean “south portage”, “portage of beeches”, “angular portage”, or “summit” or “crest”. Before 1958, the city was known as Shawinigan Falls.
Shawinigan is a city located on the Saint-Maurice River in the Mauricie area in Quebec, Canada.
The estimated population of Shawinigan is 50,060.
Shawinigan is also a territory equivalent to a regional county municipality and census division of Quebec, coextensive with the city of Shawinigan.
Shawinigan geographical code is 36.
In 1899, the SW&P commissioned Montreal engineering firm, Pringle and Son, to design a grid plan for a new industrial town on the banks of the Saint-Maurice River, providing the ground work for what would become Downtown Shawinigan.
Shawinigan has two sister cities: Hamilton, Ontario, Canda and Mexico Monterrey, Mexico.
In 1901, the place was incorporated as the Village Municipality of Shawinigan Falls and gained town (ville) status a year later in 1902.
The hydro-electric generating station contributed to rapid economic growth and the town achieved several firsts in Canadian history: first production of aluminium (1901), carborundum (1908), cellophane pellets (1932). Shawinigan
Sorel-Tracy is known for its activities in the steel industry and metallurgy as well as for its ferry linking the city to the village of Saint-Ignace-de-Loyola.
The Tracy Squadron at the Royal Military College Saint-Jean was named in honour of Sorel-Tracy.
Sorel was founded in 1642. Tracy was founded on February 10, 1954. Prior to 1954, Tracy was known as the parish municipality of Saint-Joseph de Sorel.
The city is the result of a voluntary amalgamation in 2001 between two cities, Sorel and Tracy.
Sorel-Tracy is a city in southwestern Quebec, Canada and the geographical endpoint of the Champlain Valley at the confluence of the Richelieu River and the St. Lawrence River, on the western edge of Lac Saint-Pierre downstream and east of nearby Montreal.
Sorel-Tracy is the fourth oldest city in the province of Quebec.
The Estimated Population of Sorel-Tracy is 41,629.
The painter Monique Régimbald-Zeiber was born in Sorel.
French Canadians make more than 97% of the city’s population.
The Richelieu River separates the two communities; Tracy on the west shore and Sorel on the east shore. Sorel itself had annexed in 1992 the municipality of Saint-Pierre-de-Sorel which corresponds today to the southern part of its territory.