Malbork Castle is also one of Poland’s official national Historic Monuments, as designated on 16 September 1994. Its listing is maintained by the National Heritage Board of Poland.
UNESCO designated the “Castle of the Teutonic Order in Malbork” and the Malbork Castle Museum a World Heritage Site in December 1997.
The castle is a classic example of a medieval fortress and, on its completion in 1406, was the world’s largest brick castle.
Malbork Castle is the largest castle in the world measured by land area and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The Castle of the Teutonic Order in Malbork is a 13th-century Teutonic castle and fortress located near the town of Malbork, Poland.
The castle was built by the Teutonic Order after the conquest of Old Prussia. Its main purpose was to strengthen their own control of the area following the Order’s 1274 suppression of the Great Prussian Uprising of the Baltic tribes.
In 1945 during World War II combat in the area, more than half the castle was destroyed.
During the Thirty Years’ War, in 1626 and 1629 Swedish forces occupied the castle. They invaded and occupied it again from 1656 to 1660 during the Deluge. Then the castle was visited by Swedish kings Gustav Adolf and Charles X Gustav.
The Teutonic Knights named the castle Marienburg in honour of Mary, mother of Jesus.
Tatra National Park is a National Park located in the Tatra Mountains in Tatra County, in the Lesser Poland Voivodeship, Małopolska region, in central-southern Poland.
The Park has its headquarters in the town of Zakopane.
The Tatra Mountains form a natural border between Poland to the north and Slovakia to the south, and the two countries have cooperated since the early 20th century on efforts to protect the area. Slovakia created an adjoining national park, and UNESCO later designated the combined effort a transboundary biosphere reserve.
The first calls for protection of the Tatras came at the end of the 19th century. In 1925 the first efforts to create a national park, in cooperation with Slovakia, took place.
Formally the park was created in 1937, on an area that belonged to the state forests authority. In 1947, a separate administrative unit, Tatra Park, was created.
In 1992, the Polish and Slovakian national parks in the Tatras have jointly designated a transboundary biosphere reserve by UNESCO, under its Man and the Biosphere Programme.
Tourism was first developed in the Tatras in the late 19th century and continues in the 21st. It is the most visited of the national parks in Poland.
There are more than 270 kilometres of hiking trails in Tatra National Park.
The National Park contains several endemic fauna species, and many endangered and protected ones. Animals include the Tatra chamois and marmot, both protected since the mid-19th century; brown bear, Eurasian lynx, grey wolf, European otter, lesser spotted eagle, and falcon.
The largest lakes is Morskie Oko with an area of 349,000 m² and the maximum depth of 50.8 metres, Wielki Staw with an area of 344,000 m² and the maximum depth of 79.3 metres.
Morskie Oko is the largest and fourth deepest lake in the Tatra Mountains, in southern Poland
Morskie Oko is known as the Eye of the Sea in English.
Morskie Oko is situated deep within the Tatra National Park in the Rybi Potok (the Fish Brook) Valley, of the High Tatras mountain range at the base of the Mięguszowiecki Summits, in Lesser Poland Voivodeship.
The peaks that surround the lake rise about 1,000 meters above its surface; one of them is Rysy (2,499 meters), the highest peak in the Polish Tatras.
In 1637, the Polish king Władysław IV granted landowner Wladyslaw Nowobilski the right to use pastures in the area.
Morskie Oko is one of the most popular destinations in the Tatras, often receiving over 50,000 visitors during the vacation season.
The earliest documents in which Morskie Oko is mentioned date back to 1575.
The lake was one of the filming locations for ‘The Formula, a short film by musician Sevdaliza in 2015.
In 1902, a road from Zakopane was completed and named the Oswald Balzer Road. Since 1933 following the return of sovereignty, the lake has been owned by the Polish state.
The first shelter was built there in 1836 but burned down in 1865.
The Kraków Cloth Hall, in Lesser Poland, dates to the Renaissance and is one of the city’s most recognizable icons. It is the central feature of the main market square in the Kraków Old Town.
The hall has hosted many distinguished guests over the centuries and is still used to entertain monarchs and dignitaries, such as Charles, Prince of Wales and Emperor Akihito of Japan, who was welcomed here in 2002. In the past, balls were held here, most notably after Prince Józef Poniatowski had briefly liberated the city from the Austrians in 1809.
Kraków Cloth Hall is a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1978.
The museum was upgraded in 2010 with new technical equipment, storerooms, service spaces as well as improved thematic layout for the display.
During the 1875-1879 refurbishment, the outside arcades and central transepts were added.
The successful renovation of the Cloth Hall, based on a design by Tomasz Pryliński and supervised by Mayor Mikołaj Zyblikiewicz, Sejm Marshal, was one of the most notable achievements of this period.
The Gallery of 19th-Century Polish Art was a major cultural venue from the moment it opened on October 7, 1879.
The Wawel Royal Castle is a castle residency located in central Kraków, Poland, and the first UNESCO World Heritage Site in the world.
In 1978 Wawel was declared the first World Heritage Site as part of the Historic Centre of Kraków.
In 1118 Bishop Maurus was buried in the crypt. The paten and the chalice, buried with the bishop, were later exhumed from his tomb during its accidental discovery in 1938.
The Crown Treasury situated in the historic Gothic rooms which were used from the 15th century on for storing the Polish coronation insignia and Crown Jewels.
In 1921 a statue of Tadeusz Kościuszko sculpted by Leandro Marconi and Antoni Popiel was placed on the ramparts of king Władysław IV Vasa on the northside.
Wawel Royal Castle was Built between the 13th and 14th centuries.
The Wawel Castle used to be a home and a fortress of Polish kings while Krakow was the capital of the country. It has been a pride of the nation and a symbol of the regnant.
A chunk from one of the castle’s columns was incorporated into the upper-left part of the Chicago Tribune Tower’s main entrance. It is a visual tribute to the Polish community in Chicago, which is the largest outside of Poland.
A monumental restoration project was undertaken in the early years of the 20th century and when Poland regained her independence, the castle was converted into a residential museum.
In 1520 the Royal Sigismund Bell was cast, by Hans Behem, in bronze; it is the largest of the five bells hanging in the Sigismund Tower and was named to honour King Sigismund I the Old.
The Wieliczka Salt Mine is now an official Polish Historic Monument
The Wieliczka Salt Mine reaches a depth of 327 meters, and extends via horizontal passages and chambers for over 287 kilometers
In 1978 the Wieliczka was placed on the original UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites.
The two sister salt mines now appear together in the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites as the “Wieliczka and Bochnia Royal Salt Mines”
The Wieliczka Salt Mine in the town of Wieliczka, southern Poland, lies within the Kraków metropolitan area.
The salt underground is visited every year by nearly 2 million visitors from all over the world.
The first mine shafts were dug in the 13th century in the town of Wieliczka. Making the salt mine in Krakow over 700 years old.
Salt Mine was house of thousands of horses that were used to power the treadmills which pulled and moved the baskets full of salt, all though the mine shafts, after the horses died they were buried in the mine.
26 shafts were struck in Wieliczka and 7.5 million m³ of post-excavation voids were drilled.
The Wieliczka salt mine, excavated from the 13th century, produced table salt continuously until 2007, as one of the world’s oldest operating salt mines.
The international Radom Jazz Festival and the International Gombrowicz Theater Festival are held in the city.
The city is home to the biennial Radom Air Show, the largest and best-attended air show in Poland, held during the last weekend of August.
Radom’s original settlement dates back to the 8th–the 9th century. It was an early medieval town in the valley of the Mleczna River.
Radom is the fourteenth largest city in Poland and the second-largest in the voivodeship.
In 1376, the city became the seat of a starosta, and entered the period of its greatest prosperity.
The Pact of Vilnius and Radom was signed there in 1401, and the Nihil Novi and Łaski’s Statute were adopted by the Sejm at Radom’s Royal Castle in 1505.
Radom is twinned with: Banská Bystrica, Slovakia; Daugavpils, Latvia; Homyel, Belarus; Huzhou, Zhejiang, China; Magdeburg, Germany; Ozyory, Moscow Oblast, Russia; Ploiești, Romania; Vilnius District Municipality, Lithuania; Stara Zagora, Bulgaria; Taoyuan District, Taiwan; Talavera de la Reina, Spain & Ternopil, Ukraine.
The Population of Radom is 211,371 as of 2019.
In 1364, Radom’s obsolete Środa Śląska rights were replaced with more modern Magdeburg rights, and residents gained several privileges as a result.
The Łucznik Arms Factory, located in Radom, continues to produce modern military firearms.
Toruń is renowned for the Museum of Gingerbread, whose baking tradition dates back nearly a millennium
In 1997 the medieval part of the city was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
In 2007 the Old Town in Toruń was added to the list of Seven Wonders of Poland.
Toruń is the birthplace of astronomer Nicolaus Copernicus.
Toruń is one of the oldest cities in Poland, with the first settlement dated back to the 8th century and later having been expanded in 1233 by the Teutonic Knights.
Toruń is divided into 24 administrative districts.
After Poland regained independence in 1918, Toruń was reincorporated into Polish territory, and during World War II was spared from bombing and destruction.
Toruń is twinned with: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States; Göttingen, Lower Saxony, Germany; Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands; Hämeenlinna, Finland; Kaliningrad, Russian Federation; Čadca, Slovakia; Swindon, Wiltshire, England; Novo Mesto, Slovenia; Lutsk, Ukraine & Guilin, China
Honouring Toruń’s sister relationship with Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the Bulwar Filadelfijski (Philadelphia Boulevard), a 2 km (1.2 mi) long street running mostly between Vistula River and walls of the Old Town and the boulevard itself, bears its name.
Toruń is a centre of conservative Roman Catholic culture. Redemptorist Tadeusz Rydzyk has organized here Radio Maryja, Telewizja Trwam, a college whose students contribute to the mentioned media. Now a museum is being constructed.
The city is known for the famous Pauline monastery of Jasna Góra, which is the home of the Black Madonna painting, a shrine to the Virgin Mary.
The name of Częstochowa means Częstoch’s place and comes from a personal name of Częstoch mentioned in the medieval documents also as Częstobor and Częstomir.
The first Slavic settlement in the location of Częstochowa was established in the late 11th century. It was first mentioned in historical documents from 1220 when Bishop of Kraków Iwo Odrowąż made a list of properties of the Mstów monastery.
Częstochowa is a city in southern Poland on the Warta River
The population of Częstochow is 510,139, as of 2019.
There are about 26,000 companies registered in Częstochowa.
Częstochowa is an important industrial city with textile mills, chemical processing, glass and paper manufacturing, and food processing.
In 1377, Częstochowa was given city rights. In the same year, a document confirms the foundation of the first ironworks in the city.
Częstochowa is a city with powiat rights.
Częstochowa is twinned with: Bethlehem, Palestine; Irkutsk, Russia; Kamianets-Podilskyi, Ukraine; Loreto, Italy; Lourdes, France; Nazareth, Israel; Ourém, Portugal; Pforzheim, Germany; Rēzekne, Latvia; Šiauliai, Lithuania; South Bend, United States; Styria, Austria & Zapopan, Mexico