Kobryn is located at Latitude 52.12.58N and Longitude 24.21.59E.
In 1944, the town was liberated by the Red Army. Since 1991, it is a part of the independent Republic of Belarus.
Kobryn is a city in the Brest Region of Belarus and the centre of the Kobryn District.
The first written mention about Kobryn belongs to 1287 and is presented in the Hypatian Chronicle.
In prehistoric times it was inhabited by the ancient Baltic Yotvingian tribe.
On 14 November 1939, Kobryn was incorporated into the Byelorussian SSR.
The Kobryn is located in the southwestern corner of Belarus where the Mukhavets River and Dnepr-Bug Canal meet.
Kobryn has an altitude of 485 feet.
Kobryn has an estimated population of 53,000, as of 2020.
In the years 1774–1784, a canal was built connecting the Mukhavets River with the Pina River, named the Royal Canal after Polish King Stanisław August Poniatowski, who opened it, and as a result, a water route was created connecting the Baltic Sea and the Black Sea.
The name Lida is derived from the name of the River Lidzeya. Its origin is associated with the Lithuanian name Lyda.
There are passing mentions of Lida in chronicles from 1180. Until the early 14th century, the settlement at Lida was a wooden fortress in Lithuania proper.
In spring 2001, the Jewish of Belarus worked closely with the residents of Lida to erect a memorial commemorating the thousands of Lida Jews that perished in the Holocaust.
Polish King Sigismund III Vasa granted Lida Magdeburg town rights in 1590, which were later confirmed in Warsaw by Kings Władysław IV Vasa in 1640 and Michael Korybut Wiśniowiecki in 1670 and by the Polish Sejm in 1776.
Vitebsk developed from a river harbour where the Vićba River flows into the larger Western Dvina, which is spanned in the city by the Kirov Bridge.
Vitebsk is the capital city of the Vitebsk Region, in Belarus.
In June 1992, a monument to Chagall was erected on his native Pokrovskaja Street and a memorial inscription was placed on the wall of his house.
Vitebsk is Belarus’s fourth-largest city.
The official year of the founding of Vitebsk is 974, based on an anachronistic legend of founding by Olga of Kyiv, but the first mention in historical records dates from 1021, when Yaroslav the Wise of Kyiv gave it to Bryachislav Izyaslavich, Prince of Polotsk.
Vitebsk served by Vitebsk Vostochny Airport and Vitebsk Air Base.
The main universities of Vitebsk are Vitebsk State Technological University, Vitebsk State Medical University and Vitebsk State University named in honour of Pyotr Masherov.
In January 1991 Vitebsk celebrated the first Marc Chagall Festival.
The estimated Population of Vitebsk is 362,466.
In 1919, Vitebsk was made a part of the Socialist Soviet Republic of Byelorussia. Then it was transferred to the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic, In 1924, it was returned to Belarus.