Nové Zámky is a town in Nové Zámky District in the Nitra Region of in southwestern Slovakia.
The town is located on the Danubian Lowland, on the Nitra River, at an altitude of 119 metres.
Nové Zámky is twinned with Fonyód, Hungary; Sevnica, Slovenia; Tábor, Czech Republic & Znojmo, Czech Republic.
The Elevation altitude of Nove Zamky is 119 metres.
The town lies in the temperate zone and has a continental climate. The annual average temperature reaches around 10 °C (50.0 °F), with the warmest month being July with an average of 20 °C (68 °F) and the coldest January with −2 °C (28 °F). Average annual precipitation is 556 mm.
In 1685, Nove Zamky was conquered by the imperial troops of Charles V, Duke of Lorraine. Six years later, it received town privileges from the Esztergom archbishop.
The total area of Nove Zamky is 72.565 km2.
The Geographic Coordinates of Nove Zamky: 47°59′08″N 18°09′28″E
The Ferris Wheel and the Ferris Tower, located in a park a few hundred meters from the palace complex, are popular for exploring the city. Since the topography of Gomel is relatively flat, the height of the surrounding buildings means it is easy to view the city from the wheel and tower.
In 2004 the first Hungarian-language university in Slovakia since 1919, the J. Selye University was established in Komárno.
The name Komarno is of Slavic or Latin origin.
Komárno is twinned with Blansko, Czech Republic; Komárom, Hungary; Kralupy nad Vltavou, Czech Republic; Lieto, Finland; Sebeş, Romania; Terezín, Czech Republic & Weissenfels, Germany
Komárom and Komárno are connected by two bridges: The older iron bridge, and a newer lifting bridge, Currently a third bridge is under construction with estimated completion by 2020/2021.
King Béla IV, in his charter of April 1, 1265, granted the settlement town status and privileges.
Komárom was formed from part of a historical town in Hungary situated on both banks of the Danube. Following World War I and the Treaty of Trianon, the border of the newly created Czechoslovakia cut the historical, unified town in half, creating two new towns.
Komárno was divided as a consequence. In 1920 Komárno became part of Czechoslovakia while its south-bank settlement, Komárom, remained part of Hungary.
Komárno, located at the confluence of the Danube and Váh rivers, 108 – 115 meters above sea level.
The estimated population of Komarno is 34,228.
Komárno is a town in Slovakia at the confluence of the Danube and the Váh rivers.
Kobryn is located at Latitude 52.12.58N and Longitude 24.21.59E.
In 1944, the town was liberated by the Red Army. Since 1991, it is a part of the independent Republic of Belarus.
Kobryn is a city in the Brest Region of Belarus and the centre of the Kobryn District.
The first written mention about Kobryn belongs to 1287 and is presented in the Hypatian Chronicle.
In prehistoric times it was inhabited by the ancient Baltic Yotvingian tribe.
On 14 November 1939, Kobryn was incorporated into the Byelorussian SSR.
The Kobryn is located in the southwestern corner of Belarus where the Mukhavets River and Dnepr-Bug Canal meet.
Kobryn has an altitude of 485 feet.
Kobryn has an estimated population of 53,000, as of 2020.
In the years 1774–1784, a canal was built connecting the Mukhavets River with the Pina River, named the Royal Canal after Polish King Stanisław August Poniatowski, who opened it, and as a result, a water route was created connecting the Baltic Sea and the Black Sea.