The church was built near the River Daugava in 1211 by Livonian Bishop Albert of Riga, who came from Lower Saxony in northwestern Germany. It is considered the largest medieval church in the Baltic states.
In 2011 the copper roofing above the nave was replaced. In 2015 the tower exterior was also re-plated and its wooden support structure renewed.
The church is commonly called the Dome Cathedral, a tautology as the word ‘Dome’ comes from the German Dom meaning ‘cathedral’.
Riga Cathedral formally The Cathedral Church of Saint Mary, is the Evangelical Lutheran cathedral in Riga, Latvia. It is the seat of the Archbishop of Riga.
The Riga Dom Cathedral Boys Choir has performed internationally, recording the Riga Mass by Uģis Prauliņš and other works.
The organ of the Riga Cathedral was built by E.F. Walcker & Sons of Ludwigsburg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany, in 1882–83, and was inaugurated on 31 January 1884.
The roosters sitting on the spires of Riga Old City churches are one of the symbols of Riga.
The Population of Bauska is 24,370 as of 2019, with an approximate density of 30 people per km2.
The town is situated at the confluence of the shallow rivers Mūsa and Mēmele where they form the Lielupe River.
Bauska is twinned with: Hedemora, Sweden; Khashuri, Georgia; Náchod, Czech Republic; Pakruojis, Lithuania; Radviliškis, Lithuania; Rypin, Poland & Soroca, Moldova.
Bauska received town rights in 1609.
On September 14, 2012, a monument to the inhabitants of the city who organized the defence of Bauska against the Soviet assault in 1944 was unveiled in the city, with the inscription “To the defenders of Bauska against the second Soviet occupation on July 28 – September 14, 1944”.
In previous centuries the city was known in German as Bauske, in Yiddish as Boisk and in Lithuanian as Bauskė.
Bauska is a town in Bauska Municipality, in the Zemgale region of southern Latvia.
Bauska Town Hall was the second largest town hall in Latvia until 1740.
The administrative-territorial reform was completed in 2009 by establishing four new municipalities in the territory of the Bauska Region: counties of Bauska, Iecava, Rundāle and Vecumnieki.
By the early 13th century this territory was inhabited by Semigallian tribes. In the mid-15th century, Bauska castle was built by Germans of the Livonian Order, who then were a part of the Terra Mariana confederacy.
The palace was built in two periods, from 1736 until 1740 and from 1764 until 1768.
In 1735 Duke of Courland Ernst Johann von Biron bought land in Rundāle with an old medieval castle in the territory of a planned summer residence. The old castle was demolished and construction after the design of Bartolomeo Rastrelli started in 1736.
Rundāle Palace Museum is one of the two major baroque palaces built for the Dukes of Courland.
The palace was dealt a serious blow after World War II, when a grain storehouse was set up in the premises in addition to the school. Later, the duke’s dining room was transformed into the school’s gymnasium. A school was located in the palace until 1978.
The final works were carried out in 1770 when a fellow of J. M. Graff placed mirrors in the White Hall.
The palace suffered serious damage in 1919 during the Latvian War of Independence.
In 1963, Rundāle Palace became a branch of the Bauska local history museum. In 1965 and also in 1971, the Supreme Soviet of Latvian SSR decided to restore Rundāle Palace. In 1972, Rundāle Palace Museum was established.
Total restoration costs from 1972 until 2014 were estimated to be 8,420,495 euros.
A “green amphitheatre” has been set up in one of the bosquets, following Rastrelli’s original design and the still remaining relief shapes.
The name of Rundāle comes from the German place-name Ruhenthal (Valley of Peace). The Rundāle Palace built during the 16th century was located on the northern side of the pond.
House of the Blackheads is a building situated in the old town of Riga, Latvia.
The original building was erected during the first third of the 14th century for the Brotherhood of Blackheads, a guild for unmarried merchants, shipowners, and foreigners in Riga.
The sculptures were made by the workshop of August Volz.
The building was bombed to a ruin by the Germans on June 28, 1941. a week after the launching of Operation Barbarossa and the remains were demolished by the Soviets in 1948. It was rebuilt between 1996 and 1999 with funds provided by Valērijs Kargins, the president of Parex Bank.
House of the Black Heads was officially opened on December 9, 1999.
The presidential residence for the president of Latvia was temporarily located in the building from 2012 to 2016.
The house was known for its wild parties and the Brotherhood is credited with displaying the first public Christmas tree in 1510.
House of the Black Heads is one of the oldest and most renowned building complexes in Tallinn’s Old Town.
The House of the Blackheads now plays host to a museum and has a grand ballroom used for cultural events.
The re-building of House of the Blackheads fulfilled a saying once written on the building’s entrance: “Should I ever crumble to dust, rebuild my walls you must”.