Facts about Royal Palace of Turin:
- The palace was the centre of the Savoyard royal court.
- In 1946, the palace was claimed by the Italian Republic and turned into a “Museum of the Life and Works of the House of Savoy”.
- In 1997, The Royal Palace of Turin was placed on the UNESCO World Heritage Site list.
- Anne Marie d’Orléans died at the palace in 1728.
- The Royal Palace of Turin was originally built in the 16th century. Construction of the palace was ordered by the Regent Christina Maria in 1645.
- The royal gates of the palace have a golden Medusa symbol embossed on them, in order to fend off intruders.