Skip links

What is the capital city of Texas?

What is the capital city of Texas? Austin

The capital city of Texas is Austin. Austin is situated at the point at which the Colorado River crosses the Balcones Escarpment in the south-central part of the state. Originated as the riverside village of Waterloo, in a buffalo-hunting region occupied by Tonkawa and Comanche peoples.

In 1839 it was selected by scouts as the site for the permanent capital of the Republic of Texas and renamed to honour Stephen F. Austin, father of the republic.

When did Austin become the capital of Texas?

Texas was part of Mexico until 1835 when Anglo-American settlers in the region rose up against the government and fought for their independence. After a five-month struggle, the Republic of Texas was declared a sovereign country in 1836.

In 1839, Waterloo was chosen to replace Houston as the capital of Texas. Shortly after, the name of the city was changed to Austin, in honour of Stephen F. Austin, known as the “Father of Texas” and the first Secretary of State for the republic. On August 1, 1839, the first city lots were sold at auction and The city was officially incorporated on December 27, 1839.

What is the capital city of Texas? Austin
What is the capital city of Texas? Austin

Leave a comment

Facts About Prague What is the longest river in Europe? The Volga River Facts About Haiphong Malaga Facts Interesting Facts About Bratislava