Skip links

What is the capital city of Utah?

What is the capital city of Utah? Salt Lake City

The capital city of Utah is Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City was founded on the Jordan River near the Great Salt Lake and the capital building was built in 1914.

Salt Lake City is in the northeast corner of the Salt Lake Valley surrounded by the Great Salt Lake to the northwest, the steep Wasatch Range to the east, and the Oquirrh Mountains to the west.

The lowest point within the boundaries of the city is 4,210 feet near the Jordan River and the Great Salt Lake, and the highest is Grandview Peak, at 9,410 feet.

When did Salt Lake City become the capital of Utah?

Salt Lake City was founded in 1847 by a group of Mormon pioneers led by Brigham Young, Originally named Great Salt Lake City after the nearby Great Salt Lake. As colonizer and founder of Salt Lake City, Young was appointed the territory’s first governor. Under his direction, the Mormons built roads and bridges, forts, irrigation projects, established public welfare, organized a militia, and made peace with the Native Americans.

Salt Lake became the capital of the state of Utah on January 4, 1896, when Utah entered the union following US President Grover Cleveland’s decree.

What is the capital city of Utah?
What is the capital city of Utah?

Leave a comment

Facts About Prague What is the longest river in Europe? The Volga River Facts About Haiphong Malaga Facts Interesting Facts About Bratislava